Wednesday 12 October 2016

Maritime Media Awards 2016: Opportunities for Women in Marine-Related Occupations - and those who write about them

Opportunities for Women in Marine-Related Occupations is the theme for the 2016 Maritime Media Awards, which will be announced at a gala dinner at the Institute of Directors in Pall Mall on Oct 26.
My book, 'From Cabin "Boys" to Captains: 250 years of women at sea', is on a short list of four for the Mountbatten Literary Prize.
Many fascinating brief articles on women and the sea, plus vivid pictures, are included in the brochure for the awards ceremony. It's just out. You can read them all on my website,

Have women won prizes before? Yes, but not many. I calculate it to be thirteen out of approximately seventy (The total isn't clear because I'm not sure when the digital media award began.) Here's a list for the period 1995-2016:

~ Desmond Wettern Media Award
Kate Adamson, Editor, Futurenautics Magazine
Cathy McLean, News Editor, BYM News, Gibraltar
Louise Nicholls, Communications Manager, RYA

~ Mountbatten Maritime Literary Award
Jessica Berry, South Devon’s Shipwreck Trail (Amberley Publishing)
Tilly Culme-Seymour, Island Summers (Bloomsbury Publishing)
Janette McCutcheon, RMS Queen Elizabeth: the Beautiful Lady (Amberley Publishing)
Professor Helen Sampson, International Seafarers and Transnationalism in the Twenty-first Century (Manchester University Press)
Roz Savage – Stop Drifting, Start Rowing (Hay House UK Ltd)

~ Donald Gosling Award

Jane Cameron, Series Producer, The Harbour, Tern TV (BBC One Scotland)
Lucien Castaing-Taylor & Verena Paravel, Leviathan, Dogwoof Distributors (DVD)
Heather Forbes, Executive Producer, The Billion Dollar Wreck Hunt, JWM Productions (Channel 5)
Eamon Hardy & Ruth Caleb, Executive Producers, The Whale, BBC History London/BBC SB (BBC One)

~ First Sea Lord’s Digital Media Award
Gillian Churchill & Communications Team, Aircraft Carrier Alliance (ACA)

No comments: